The Orlando Fire Museum (formerly Orlando
Firehouse #3) came full circle in 2002, returning to the custody of the
Orlando Fire Department after a long lease with the
Historical Society of Central Florida.
The two-story, red-brick firehouse was initially
located on Orlando Avenue (near Dade Street) in College Park from 1926
the new Station #3 was built in College Park, the Orlando Science Center
moved the old station to Loch Haven Park. The old station had fallen
into disrepair and faced an uncertain future. The Science Center, in
cooperation with the Central Florida Fire Chiefís Association,
immediately began exterior restoration. The interior renovation that
followed transformed the old station into a fire museum.
In 1988, the Historical Society installed a new
roof, fire stairs on the north side of the building, and restored the
bathrooms. The restored station reopened two years later with a
celebration and tours to educate young and old on the history of the
Orlando Fire Department.
The Historical Museum left Loch Haven Park in 2001,
moving to the new Orange CountyRegional History Center in downtown
Orlando. Too fragile to be moved a second time, the fire museum stayed
The Orlando Fire Department took over the museumís
lease in 2002 and once again the fire museum was the focus of extensive
renovations; including replacing all windows, checking for asbestos,
painting the interior, and landscaping.
The City of Orlando now has a wonderful and exciting place to showcase
Orlando Fire Departmentís history since its inception in 1885!
On June 27, 2002 the museum reopened as the Orlando
The Orlando Fire Department
Museum is available and open to the public,
Open Fri. 9-3 and Saturday 9-4pm.
Please contact (407) 228-1421 for
Directions to the Orlando Fire Museum