We're testing a new way to do online services. Visit alpha.orlando.gov - use it and tell us what you think!

Violation Information and Resources

Pay | Dispute | Transfer | Uniform Traffic Citation | FAQs

Notice of Violation vs. Uniform Traffic Citation
A Notice of Violation (NOV) is issued by the City of Orlando as a local civilian violation. The fee is less than a ticket, at $158.00. The NOV will never show up on your driving record, or in the Orange County Clerk of Courts traffic record.

A Uniform Traffic Citation (UTC) is a charging affidavit and is identical to a citation issued by a law enforcement officer if you were pulled over for a red light traffic violation. This citation will show up on the Orange County Clerk of Courts traffic record and may show up on your driving record.

You must have your Notice of Violation (NOV) # and PIN # to make payments, both can be found on the NOV.
Please note, we do not set up payment plans. All penalties must be paid in full. 

If you have lost your notice, please call 407.246.2060 and have the vehicle license plate number available.

Options

Online: violationinfo.com

Mail:
City of Orlando
c/o STOPS Safety Program
P.O. Box 4990
Orlando, FL 32802-4990

Phone: 1.855.536.8259

In-person:
Orlando City Hall
First Floor – Cashier
400 South Orange Avenue
Orlando, FL 32801


Schedule a hearing
Fill out the Local Administrative Hearing Request form (PDF) and mail it to:
City of Orlando
Clerk of Administrative Court
400 South Orange Avenue
Orlando, FL 32802

Once processed, an Administrative Hearing Notification will be sent to you by first class mail.

Rescheduling/Cancelling a Hearing

  • You can reschedule your hearing one time.
    Fill out the Rescheduling of Hearing Request form (PDF) and submit at least five days before your original hearing date.
  • You may cancel your hearing any time prior to the hearing date once payment of $158.00, plus $50.00, is made.
  • If you fail to appear at your hearing your case will be adjudicated in your absence and may result in the violation being upheld and the assessment of costs of up to $250.00 in addition to the civil penalty of $158.00.

If Your Violation is Upheld

  • There may be an additional administrative cost assessed on top of your $158.00 penalty. The Local Hearing Officer can impose up to $250.00.
  • Failure to pay the fine and administrative costs assessed by the Local Hearing Officer within ten days after the indicated date on the administrative order, the Clerk of Administrative Court will notify the Department of Highway, Safety and Motor Vehicles. The department will place a hold on your license plate(s) or revalidation sticker until the amount has been paid in full. Please note, this hold affects all vehicles owned or co-owned by the petitioner.
  • If you are dissatisfied with the Local Hearing Officer’s ruling, you may appeal, upon receipt of the final administrative order, to the Orange County Circuit Court pursuant to Florida Statute Section 162.11 and the Florida Rule of Appellate Procedure 9.190.


Not the driver when violation was cited?

Per Florida Statute, registered owners are deemed responsible for their vehicles. If you were not the driver at the time of the violation you can have the NOV transferred to that driver.

Fill out the Affidavit of Defense form (PDF) and sign in front of a Notary public. This form must be submitted on or before the due date indicated on the NOV.

You will need the following information of the driver you are transferring the NOV to:

  • Full name
  • Address
  • Date of Birth
  • Driver’s License Number if known

Mail the completed Affidavit of Defense:
City of Orlando
c/o STOPS Safety Program
P.O. Box 4990
Orlando, FL 32802-4990

Once transferred, the driver will receive a new NOV and have 60 days to pay or contest the violation.

If the recipient of a NOV fails to take action within 60 days of its issuance, a UTC is mailed out to first position vehicle owners by certified mail.

All payments must be made at the Orange County Courthouse
425 North Orange Avenue
Orlando, FL 32801

For further questions call the Orange County Clerk of Courts at 407.836.2000.

For extensions from the Orange County Clerk of Courts, go to myorangeclerk.com for more information.

If you do not pay or schedule a hearing for the UTC by the due date, a request for suspension of your driver’s license will be sent to the Department of Health, Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Contest a UTC

  • On the front of your citation, check “option B: Request A Hearing”
  • Mail the citation to the Orange County Courthouse
  • The courthouse will mail you a Hearing Date to Appear


How does the red light camera system work?
The cameras are activated by sensors and or lasers which are located at the intersection. The system is only activated when the light (signal) is red and the vehicle fails to stop for a red light before entering the intersection. The video camera is always running recording the intersection. The cameras operates 24 hours a day, seven days a week and in all weather conditions. All events captured are sent to the city for a Traffic Infraction Enforcement Officer to review.

What are the Traffic Infraction Officer’s responsibilities?
A Traffic Infraction Enforcement Officer are employed by the City of Orlando. They review/examine the captured event from the system in order to determine if in fact the vehicle violated the traffic law. A Notice of Violation is issued by the officer and sent by the City of Orlando to the registered owner of the vehicle at the time of the violation.

How can I speak with the Traffic Infraction Enforcement Officer who issued my violation?
Call 407.246.2060.

What if the traffic light was not working properly or was defective at the time of the violation?
The traffic signal will automatically go into flash mode, meaning the light will continue to flash over and over. Also the video camera(s) located at the intersection, which run continually 24 hours a week for 7 days a week, would capture any irregularity with the traffic signal.

What if the traffic camera was not working properly or was defective at the time of the violation?
The cameras routinely perform a diagnostic test as Florida Department of Transportation requires. If the system fails any part of the test the camera(s) will shut down.

When I moved, I changed my address with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), why didn’t I receive the Notice of Violation?
You must change your vehicle registration address with the DMV in order to receive mail relating to your vehicle.

My vehicle was stolen prior to the violation?
Fill out an Affidavit of Defense and include a copy of the police report showing it was reported stolen prior to the violation date.

My vehicle tag/license plate was stolen or lost prior to the violation?
Fill out an Affidavit of Defense and include a copy of the police report showing it was reported stolen prior to the violation date.

What if the Uniform Traffic Citation was issued by another Law Enforcement Officer for the same violation?
Fill out an Affidavit of Defense and include a copy of the Uniform Traffic Citation issued by the law enforcement officer.

What if there was an emergency vehicle behind me and I had to go through the red light?
Fill out an Affidavit of Defense and include supporting documentation.

-Please Note: The law requires a vehicle to yield the right-of-way to the emergency vehicle and to immediately proceed to a position parallel to, and as close as reasonable to the closest edge of the curb of the roadway, clear of any intersection and stop and remain in position until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed, unless otherwise directed by any law enforcement officer.

What if I sold the vehicle and I left the license plate/tag on the vehicle, and now the new owner committed a violation?
Fill out an Affidavit of Defense and include a letter of explanation along with any supporting documents, i.e. Bill of Sale.

What if I sold the vehicle and I left the license plate/tag on the vehicle, and do not have the necessary information on the person to whom sold the vehicle?
You are deemed responsible for the violation since the vehicle is still under your name.

Why is the violation being sent to me when I only co-signed for the vehicle?
If you are in the first position according to the Department of Motor Vehicles’ record, you are deemed the registered owner of the vehicle. The Notice of Violation is sent to all first position registered owners.

- Spanish -